A Hereford Beefstouw in Lund near Herning is the oldest restaurant in the family. Situated in wonderful rural settings, the restaurant resides in an old merchant’s farm house and Inn dating back to 1846. The Damgaard family bought the building in 1970 and, in 1971, they opened the doors of the first of many restaurants to come.
Today, several decades later, A Hereford Beefstouw in Lund is still the place where new ideas for enhancing the dining experience are tried out for the first time. The restaurant itself is characterized by the late Aage Damgaard’s strong interest in art. The walls are covered with his own paintings as well as artwork made by the famous Danish painter Carl-Henning Pedersen. The first floor of the restaurant also houses a studio used by artists connected closely with A Hereford Beefstouw from time to time.
The old restaurant was connected with the neighboring building “Margrethe’s House” in 1990. The newer premises are mainly used to house big events related to trade fairs in Herning or large festive occasions. All in all, the restaurant can accommodate a total 110 dining guests.